World Teacher Day

October finds me me in my well known routines – eyes on screens, eyes in books, eyes observing students. October also finds me juggling online seminars and the desire to be outdoors. October finds me in transit – designing courses, learning on courses, switching from educator to learner, wearing different hats, ┬áhoping that in the process I may become a better educator for those I work with.

October also finds me giving thanks to the many educators who inspire, guide and collaborate with me. On October 5th, my thoughts will go out to all in my connected web of networks and collaborations – with thanks and gratitude.

In a world where so much change impacts Education, individuals can no longer pretend to be islands of all knowledge. In a world where educators face all the realities of change in their students’ faces, where educators are handed outdated curricula to perform as teaching, in classrooms designed for the industrial age yet juggling digital devices for learning, there is an international day where teachers are recognised as an essential link for sustainable and improved living conditions across the globe.

The Global Learning Crisis
To all who enlighten me, to all who push boundaries, to all who make the world a more informed place – thank you.

Note:

The image with Seth Godin’s quote is by Samantha Tran

5 thoughts on “World Teacher Day

  1. Pingback: World Teacher Day | iEduc@rt | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: World Teacher Day | Sócrates del S. XXI ...

  3. Pingback: The Global Learning Crisis: World Teacher Day |...

  4. Pingback: World Teacher Day | Education | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

